Welcome! NO NEED TO LOG IN - JUST ENJOY

FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups   Register 
 Profile   Log in to check your private messages   Log in 

Ray Price biographies

The Official Ray Price Fan Club Forum Index -> Our Guestbook
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SPD

Posted: Fri Jan 28, 2005 4:52 pm    Post subject: Ray Price biographies

Anyone know if there's a Ray Price biography in print or any older biographies still available?
Rose Murray

Posted: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:36 am    Post subject: Answering your question re Ray biogs

That's a very good question. It first occurred to me in 1981, and since writing and research are what I do for a living, I did a search and found very little in print, certainly not the book-length autobiography or biography one would expect to see about an artist of Ray Price's magnitude.

Then, again in the 90's, I searched for anything that had been written up to that time but found no biography. Around 1999 when I was writing the article "Hank N Ray" (that can be seen on this website), I did much research and interviewed Ray briefly. In libraries, I found many magazine articles from over the years, especially in Country Music magazine. I also found mention of him and anecdotes in some books, epscially in those about Hank Williams and Willie Nelson, who were both very close to him.

A few years ago, I wrote a short biography for this site which you can find in the Table of Contents. You can find a link to that under the photo of Ray on the front page of the site you are on right now--www.raypricefanclub.com. You might also put Ray's name into a good search engine such as Google to find recent newspaper interviews or stories.